Updated August 2026·10 min read

AI video tools: the free-tier catch is a retention clock, not a watermark

Everyone asks whether the free plan adds a watermark. On the tool most people start with, the watermark is the least of it: your clips stop being exportable after three days.

Last reviewed: August 2026 Next review: November 2026
Bottom line up front

Three tools, three different limits

The useful comparison here is not which number is bigger. It is which kind of limit each vendor uses, because that is what decides whether a plan fits your work.

Binds on time OpusClip 3 daysbefore free clips stop being exportable

60 credits a month and up to 1080p, with a watermark and no editing. The clock runs on work you have already made.

Binds on length Submagic 2 minmaximum length per video, entry plan

15 videos a month at $12 per member. The count is generous and the length cap is what actually stops a podcast clip.

Binds on credits, rate published VEED 4credits per AI video, stated by the vendor

6,000 credits described as roughly 1,500 AI videos on the entry plan. You can do the arithmetic before paying.

Read from opus.pro/pricing, submagic.co/pricing and veed.io/pricing on 25 August 2026. Submagic and VEED rates shown are annual billing; OpusClip is noted per plan below.

The retention ladder

OpusClip's export limit is the clearest example in this category of a restriction that is not about compute at all. Storing a finished MP4 is close to free; the limit exists to move you up a tier.

Free60 credits/mo, watermark3 days
Starter $15/mo150 credits/mo30 days
Pro $29 or $14.503,600 creditsno limit
Businesshigher allowancesno limit

Bar length is proportional for the two measurable values (3 days to 30 days is 1:10). The unlimited tiers are drawn at full width and are not to scale, because no length can honestly represent no limit.

This is the same move as selling privacy. An image generator we priced last week makes free-tier creations public and charges $12 for privacy. Here a video tool charges for the right to keep your own finished export. In both cases the paid feature is not more compute, it is the removal of a restriction the vendor chose to add. That is legitimate pricing, and it is worth naming for what it is, because a reader comparing credit allowances will never see it.

The plan that costs more and gives less

OpusClip's two entry tiers are worth reading carefully, because the cheaper-sounding one is not cheaper.

Starter

monthly billing only
$15 /mo
150 credits / mo
30-day export limit
no annual option
Its pricing page states the Starter plan is available on monthly billing only.
$180 over a year, for 1,800 credits and a retention clock.

Pro

annual billing available
$14.50 /mo
3,600 credits
no export limit
$174 billed annually
$29 a month if you pay monthly, which is the number most readers will see first.
Less per month than Starter, twenty-four times the credits, and no clock.

If you are willing to commit for a year, the entry plan is the worst purchase on the page. That is not a trick, and both numbers are published plainly. It is simply what happens when one tier is excluded from the annual discount and nobody lays the two side by side.

What Submagic actually meters

Three separate units at once, which is unusual, and the one people quote is not the one that binds.

Submagic planPrice (annual)Videos / moMax lengthAI creditsExport
Free trial$03 videos totalnot statednot statedno card required
Starter$12 /member/mo152 min31080p, 30 FPS
Pro$23 /member/mo405 min61080p, 2K, 30 FPS
Business + API$41 /member/mo10030 min151080p, 4K, 30 & 60 FPS

Every paid tier lists No Watermark, so the watermark question is settled at the cheapest paid plan and does not distinguish the tiers at all. What distinguishes them is length. A 2-minute ceiling rules out most podcast segments, interview cuts and long-form repurposing, which is the exact work people buy this category for. The videos-per-month number is the headline and the minutes number is the decision.

On the annual rates, and what was not read

Submagic's pricing page was read with its annual toggle active, showing a 41% annual discount, so the $12, $23 and $41 figures are per member per month billed yearly. The page also advertised savings of $84 on Starter and $192 on Pro against monthly billing. The monthly rates themselves were not read and are not stated here.

Submagic also offers a Magic Clips add-on at $12 per member per month, described as producing viral clips from 10 long videos a month. That is a second product bolted to the same subscription, and it is the closest Submagic comes to competing with OpusClip directly.

The one that publishes its rate

VEED meters in credits like the others and, unlike the others, tells you what one buys.

VEED planPer seat / monthBilled yearlyCreditsStated asImplied rate
Creator$12$1476,000~1,500 AI videos4 credits / video
Pro$22$26530,000~7,500 AI videos4 credits / video
Studio$39$465180,000~45,000 AI videos4 credits / video
Four credits per video, at every tier, with no rounding drift. That consistency is the reason to trust it: a vendor inventing a comforting number would not land on exactly the same ratio three times. VEED's Creator plan also lists no watermark and unlimited auto subtitles. Note that the monthly figure is rounded: $147 billed yearly works out to $12.25 a month, not $12.

Which one, in one line

If you clip long videos
OpusClip Pro
$14.50 /mo annually

Cheaper per month than its own Starter plan, with no export clock and 3,600 credits. The entry tier is the one to skip.

If you want to know the cost first
VEED Creator
$12 /seat/mo

The only one of the three that publishes what a credit buys, so you can size the plan against your actual output before paying.

If your clips are short
Submagic Starter
$12 /member/mo

Fine for shorts under 2 minutes. Check that ceiling against your real footage before committing, because it is the binding limit.

What this page covers, and what it does not

Scope · verified 25 August 2026

Three tools were read in full from their own pricing pages on that date: OpusClip, Submagic and VEED. Every figure above comes from those pages and excludes tax. Nothing here is estimated or carried forward from an earlier version of this article.

This is deliberately not a ranking of the whole category. CapCut, Descript, Kapwing and Clipchamp all belong in a wider comparison and none of them were priced here, so none of them are judged here. We cover several of them in the full video editing comparison.

Retention terms and length caps change more quietly than prices do. If a figure here no longer matches the vendor's own page, the vendor's page is right and this one is stale.

Frequently asked questions

Does OpusClip put a watermark on free videos?
Yes. The Free plan is listed with a watermark, no editing, and 60 credits a month at up to 1080p. But the watermark is not the binding limit: the same plan states that after 3 days the clips will no longer be exportable, so a free clip you do not download within 3 days is gone. Watermark-free export begins on the paid tiers.
How long do OpusClip clips stay available?
Free is a 3-day export limit at up to 1080p. Starter at $15 a month is a 30-day limit at the highest resolution available. Pro and Business have no limit. Retention is sold as a feature here, in the same way privacy is sold by some image generators.
What is the video length limit on Submagic?
Submagic caps length as well as count. Read at annual billing on 25 August 2026: Starter ($12 per member per month) allows 15 videos at a maximum of 2 minutes each, Pro ($23) allows 40 videos at up to 5 minutes, and Business + API ($41) allows 100 videos at up to 30 minutes. The 2-minute cap binds long before the count of 15 does.
How many credits does one AI video cost?
VEED is the only one of these three that publishes it, and its numbers are internally consistent at 4 credits per AI video: 6,000 credits is described as roughly 1,500 AI videos, 30,000 as roughly 7,500, and 180,000 as roughly 45,000. OpusClip and Submagic both meter in credits without publishing what one buys.
Is OpusClip Starter or Pro better value?
On annual billing, Pro is both cheaper and far larger. Starter is $15 a month, monthly billing only, with 150 credits and a 30-day export limit. Pro is $29 monthly or $14.50 a month billed annually at $174 a year, with 3,600 credits and no export limit.
Which AI video tools have no watermark?
All three remove it on every paid tier. Submagic lists No Watermark on Starter, Pro and Business alike; VEED lists no watermark from Creator; OpusClip provides watermark-free export on its paid plans. The watermark is an entry-level marker across this category rather than a difference between paid products.

Related reading on Nesyona

Save
Dashboard

From our network

Best AI Tools for Amazon Sellers - bagengine.comBest AI Courses 2026 - edubracket.comBest Accounting Software for Online Sellers - ceocult.com