Do AI credits roll over? The 3x rule
Three AI vendors, in three unrelated categories, metering in three different units, all cap your accumulated allowance at exactly the same multiple. None of them advertise it and all three put it in a footnote.
- Every vendor we could read that publishes a rollover cap chose 3x. Leonardo, ElevenLabs and Podsqueeze. Nobody picked 2x, 4x or six months.
- Different categories and different units. Image generation in Fast Tokens, voice in credits, podcasting in minutes. Same ceiling.
- Two readable vendors publish nothing. Descript and Speechify have no rollover language on their pricing pages at all.
- Rollover is a paid feature and it is conditional. Cancel or downgrade and the banked balance is forfeited.
- Where nothing is stated, assume it expires, and size your plan for a typical month rather than your busiest one.
Three vendors, one ceiling
Each of these was read from the vendor's own pricing page. The arithmetic is theirs; the only thing we did was put them next to each other.
bank ceiling 25,500
25,500 ÷ 8,500
capped at 2x quota
plus this month
"accumulate up to
3x your monthly minutes"
Read from leonardo.ai/pricing, elevenlabs.io/pricing and podsqueeze.com/pricing on 25 August 2026.
What a 3x cap actually buys you
It is worth translating out of multiples and into how work actually arrives.
Three months of banked allowance means you can have two quiet months and one heavy one without paying for a top-up. That covers the normal shape of freelance and agency work: a slow August, a slow September, then a launch in October that needs everything at once. What it does not cover is the annual pattern, where you subscribe cheaply through a long quiet stretch and then spend a year's allowance in a fortnight. The cap sits precisely between those two cases.
What the cap permits
month 2: unused
month 3: spend 3x
What the cap prevents
month 12: spend 12x
then cancel
The balance is not yours
Every published policy attaches the same condition, in almost the same words.
| Vendor | Cap | Condition | Free plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| ElevenLabs | 3x monthly quota | Active paid subscription; downgrading or cancelling forfeits unused credits at the end of the cycle | No rollover |
| Podsqueeze | 3x monthly minutes | "As long as you remain on your current plan or upgrade" | Not stated |
| Leonardo | 3 months of allowance | Bank ceiling attached to the plan tier | Bank of 150 against 150 per day |
| Descript | Not published | No rollover language on the pricing page | Not stated |
| Speechify | Not published | No rollover language on the pricing page | Not stated |
Why three, and why nobody says
No vendor explains the number, so what follows is inference and is labelled as such.
Rollover exists to solve a churn problem. A customer who pays for a month they barely used feels cheated and starts pricing alternatives, so letting the allowance carry forward removes the sting. But uncapped rollover creates a different problem: the subscription stops being a subscription and becomes a prepaid commodity account, which wrecks capacity planning and lets a customer bank cheap compute against a future price rise.
A quarter is the shortest window that covers ordinary seasonal variation, and it happens to match how these businesses report. Whether three vendors reached it independently or simply copied the market leader, we cannot tell from a pricing page. What we can say is that when a vendor in this market discloses a cap at all, the number has so far always been the same one.
How solid is this pattern, honestly
It is three vendors out of eight we attempted, and the denominator matters. Three published a cap and all three chose 3x. Two more, Descript and Speechify, were fully readable and contained no rollover language anywhere on their pricing pages. Three others, Murf, Play.ht and Canva, returned JavaScript-only or blocked responses to an automated request, so nothing was measured for them and they are not counted either way.
So the honest claim is narrow: of the vendors that publish a rollover cap, all of them so far picked 3x. That is a real and checkable pattern, and it is not the same as saying the whole market caps at 3x. If you find a vendor publishing 2x or 6x, that breaks it, and we would like to know.
How to check your own tools
1. Search the pricing page for three words: rollover, accumulate, unused. If none appear, the allowance almost certainly expires monthly.
2. Read the footnotes, not the columns. Every cap we found was in an asterisk or an FAQ, never in the plan comparison table where a buyer actually looks.
3. Check the condition attached to it. The cap is usually the second half of a sentence whose first half is "as long as you remain on your current plan."
4. Check whether it applies to the free plan. It generally does not, which means free-tier allowances are strictly use-it-or-lose-it.
5. Then size for a typical month, not a peak one. If rollover exists you have three months of headroom for the peak; if it does not, buying for the peak means paying for it eleven months a year.
How this was checked, and when it expires
Eight vendor pricing pages were requested on that date. Every figure and quotation above comes from the vendor's own published page or pricing FAQ. Vendors whose pages could not be read are named as unread rather than counted as having no policy, because an unreadable page is not evidence of absence.
Rollover terms change more quietly than prices. A cap moving from 3x to 1x costs a seasonal customer real money and changes no advertised number. If a policy here no longer matches the vendor's own page, the vendor's page is right and this one is stale.