By Vincent Wesley CoueyPublished 26 October 2026 · 6 min read
Pages read: 26 October 2026Next re-read: 2 November 2026

OpenAI charges 2x for Fast and 6x for Ultrafast on its flagship models

OpenAI's API pricing page, read on 26 October 2026, lists gpt-6-astra at $10.00 input and $50.00 output per million tokens at standard, $20.00 and $100.00 at Fast, and $60.00 and $300.00 at Ultrafast. Batch is half of standard. The same page says GPT-5.6 Sol promotional pricing runs at least through 21 November 2026.

In this article
  1. The price ladder
  2. What a tier costs
  3. The GPT-5.6 Sol promotion
  4. How we know
  5. FAQ

The price ladder: Standard, Batch, Fast, Ultrafast

OpenAI's pricing page lists the same flagship models at four speed and delivery tiers. The page read on 26 October 2026 lists three flagship models; the multiples in the tiles are computed by division from its tables.

Fast
2x

Fast costs twice the standard input and output price on gpt-6-astra, gpt-6.1-sol and gpt-6-luna. OpenAI says priority processing was renamed Fast mode on 30 July 2026.

Ultrafast
6x

Ultrafast costs six times standard on gpt-6-astra and gpt-6.1-sol. gpt-6-luna has no Ultrafast row on the page.

Batch
0.5x

Batch is half the standard price on all three flagship models.

Regional processing
+10%

OpenAI says regional processing (data residency) endpoints carry a 10% uplift for models released on or after 5 March 2026. FedRAMP endpoints carry one too.

Web search tool
$10.00 / 1,000

OpenAI lists web search at this price per 1,000 calls for all models, plus search content tokens at model rates.

GPT-5.6 Sol promotion
to 21 Nov

OpenAI says promotional pricing for GPT-5.6 Sol is available at least through 21 November 2026. The page does not state a price after that date.

Per million tokens, input / outputStandardBatchFastUltrafast
gpt-6-astra$10.00 / $50.00$5.00 / $25.00$20.00 / $100.00$60.00 / $300.00
gpt-6.1-sol$2.00 / $10.00$1.00 / $5.00$4.00 / $20.00$12.00 / $60.00
gpt-6-luna$0.10 / $0.50$0.05 / $0.25$0.20 / $1.00not listed

What a tier costs on a real job

The tier you pick changes the cost of the same job by up to twelve times. The table prices one example job on every listed tier.

Example: 1 million input and 250,000 output tokensStandardBatchFastUltrafast
gpt-6-astra$22.50$11.25$45.00$135.00
gpt-6.1-sol$4.50$2.25$9.00$27.00
gpt-6-luna$0.23$0.11$0.45not listed

Assumption, not a measurement: 1 million input and 250,000 output tokens, uncached. Derived by us from the table above.

What this does not show. We priced tokens; we did not measure speed, quality or availability at any tier. A model absent from a tier's table is not offered at that tier on the page we read.

The GPT-5.6 Sol promotion

Below the flagship tables, OpenAI's page says promotional pricing for GPT-5.6 Sol is available at least through 21 November 2026. The static page does not say which listed row is the promotional one, and does not state what the price becomes. We therefore publish no price for after the promotion.

The same page lists a gpt-5.6-sol row under a separate Cyber models heading. We do not know whether that row is the promotional price.

How we know, and what we did not verify

Prices were parsed from a saved copy of developers.openai.com/api/docs/pricing (SHA-256 cf734fcb60d01a59), read on 26 October 2026. The build stops if the tables stop matching.

Part of the series: price calendar, search tool prices, DeepSeek pricing.

FAQ

What is the difference between Fast and Ultrafast on the OpenAI API?

On OpenAI's pricing page, read 26 October 2026, Fast is listed at 2x the standard price and Ultrafast at 6x for gpt-6-astra and gpt-6.1-sol. For gpt-6-astra that is $10.00 input and $50.00 output at standard, $20.00 and $100.00 at Fast, and $60.00 and $300.00 at Ultrafast, per million tokens. We did not measure the speed difference.

How much does Batch save?

Half. The page lists Batch at $1.00 input and $5.00 output for gpt-6.1-sol, against $2.00 and $10.00 at standard.

What happens to GPT-5.6 Sol pricing after 21 November?

OpenAI's page says promotional pricing is available at least through 21 November 2026 and does not state a later price, or which listed row is the promotional one. We will not guess. The page is re-read weekly.

Does OpenAI charge more for regional processing?

Yes, per its page: regional processing (data residency) endpoints are charged a 10% uplift for models released on or after 5 March 2026 that are eligible for data residency, and FedRAMP endpoints are also charged a 10% uplift.

What does OpenAI charge for web search?

The page lists web search for all models at $10.00 per 1,000 calls plus search content tokens billed at model rates. See our comparison of search tool prices across providers.

From our network

Best AI Tools for Amazon Sellers - bagengine.comBest AI Courses 2026 - edubracket.comBest Accounting Software for Online Sellers - ceocult.com