Buyer criteria · LLMOps

Prompt optimization software is several products sold under one name

Eight criteria decide which platform fits: version control, evaluation, tracing, automated optimization, cost tracking, access control, data residency and the pricing unit. We scored eight vendors against each from their own pricing pages and docs, read on 19 October 2026, and priced every one for a five-person team.

By Vincent Wesley Couey · Published 19 October 2026 · Prices read on each vendor's own page 19 October 2026 · 13 min read

The short answer

  1. Find the missing station first. Prompt optimization software is a registry, an evaluation harness, a gateway, a tracer and an optimizer. PromptHub leads on the registry, Braintrust and Promptfoo on evaluation, Portkey on routing, Langfuse on tracing with cost.
  2. Price it at your team size, not the sticker. For five people the entry paid tier runs from $29 a month (Langfuse Core, unlimited users) to $249 (Braintrust Pro), because some vendors charge per seat and others charge a platform fee plus usage.
  3. Self-host if prompts carry customer data. Langfuse, Portkey and Promptfoo publish a self-hosted route on their pricing pages; others reserve it for Enterprise.
  4. Treat automated optimization as a feature, not a category. Only Braintrust (Loop agent), PromptHub (prompt enhancer) and LangSmith (recommended prompt fixes) name it on their pricing pages.

What should prompt optimization software actually do?

Prompt optimization software should store every prompt version, score each version against a fixed test set, show what the prompt did in production, and make the next improvement cheap to try.

Prompt optimization software is three to five products sold under one name: a prompt registry, an evaluation harness, an observability layer, and on some platforms a gateway and an optimizer. The right purchase depends on which of those you are missing, which is why the same query returns tools that barely overlap.

The research behind automated optimization is real. Large Language Models as Optimizers (Google DeepMind, 2023) showed a model can propose and score prompt variants in a loop, and Large Language Models Are Human-Level Prompt Engineers (2022) generated instructions that matched human-written ones. Commercial optimizers apply that method inside your own evaluation set, which is why evaluation comes before optimization in any purchase.

The prompt lifecycle, and where each vendor sitsfive stations, vendors placed where their own pricing page or docs name the feature
The prompt lifecycle as a loop of five stations: a registry that versions prompts, an evaluation harness with datasets and scorers, a gateway that ships and routes calls, tracing with token and cost tracking, and an optimizer that proposes better prompts and feeds them back into the registry. Each station names the vendors whose pricing page or documentation lists that feature.Prompt optimization software is several products under one name. Buy for the station you are missing.1 REGISTRY + VERSIONSPromptHub: version controlLangfuse: prompt versioning, release mgmtPortkey: versioning, variables, templatesLangSmith: Prompt HubHelicone: prompts2 EVALUATEBraintrust: scores, datasets, experimentsLangfuse: datasets, LLM-as-judgePromptfoo: open-source evals, red teamingPromptLayer: eval cellsLangSmith: online and offline evals3 SHIP + ROUTEPortkey: AI gateway, fallbacks, load balancingHelicone: gateway, caching, rate limitsPromptLayer: deployment approvals (Enterprise)Braintrust: environment tags (Pro)4 TRACE + COSTLangfuse: token and cost trackingHelicone: sessions, user analyticsPortkey: logs, tracesLangSmith: tracesBraintrust: tracing5 OPTIMISE (the model proposes the next prompt)Braintrust Loop agent: iterates on prompts autonomouslyPromptHub: prompt enhancer (10 free a month, 200 on Pro)LangSmith: recommends fixes to prompts and codetraces becometest caseswinning promptbecomes aversion
Read left to right, then back round: a prompt is versioned, scored, shipped, traced, and the traces feed the next improvement. A vendor missing from a station means its pricing page or documentation did not name that feature on 19 October 2026, not that it cannot be built. Sources: each vendor’s pricing page.
Workstation

Desk setup for working with AI tools all day

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The 8 criteria, and which tools meet each

The eight criteria are version control, evaluation, tracing, automated optimization, cost tracking, access control, data residency and the pricing unit; no single vendor names all eight on its entry plan.

Named on a paid self-serve plan Enterprise or add-on only Not stated on pricing page

Vendor1 Versions2 Evals3 Tracing4 Auto-optimize5 Cost6 Roles / SSO7 Self-host
PromptHubYesYesNot statedEnhancerNot statedTeam roles SSO Ent.Not stated
PromptLayerNot statedEval cellsNot statedNot statedNot statedRBAC, SSO Ent.Ent. self-host
LangfuseYesYesYesNot statedToken + costTeams add-onSelf-host
BraintrustEnv. tagsYesYesLoop agentNot statedRBAC Pro SSO Ent.Ent. on-prem
HeliconePromptsDatasetsSessionsNot statedNot statedSAML Ent.Ent. on-prem
PortkeyYesEnt. templatesLogs + tracesNot statedEnt. budgetsRBAC, SSO Ent.Open source
PromptfooNot statedYes, OSSEnt. monitoringNot statedNot statedSSO Ent.Run locally
LangSmithPrompt HubYesYesPrompt fixesNot statedSSO, RBAC Ent.Ent. self-host

Criteria read from each vendor’s own pricing page on 19 October 2026. "Not stated" means the pricing page did not name the feature; check the vendor’s documentation before ruling a tool out.

Criteria 1 to 7 named on a self-serve plancount of the seven feature criteria each pricing page names below Enterprise, out of 7
Langfuse 5 of 7
Braintrust 5 of 7
PromptHub 4 of 7
LangSmith 4 of 7
Helicone 3 of 7
Portkey 3 of 7
Promptfoo 2 of 7
PromptLayer 1 of 7
Counted from the matrix above: a green chip on a self-serve plan scores 1. A low count can mean the pricing page is terse rather than the product thin; PromptLayer’s page lists limits more than features. Criterion 8, the pricing unit, is priced separately below.

1. Version control and rollback

Version control is the floor: every prompt edit saved with a label so a bad change can be undone in one step. PromptHub lists "Version control" in every plan’s feature list, Langfuse lists "Prompt Versioning" and "Prompt Release Management", and Portkey lists "Versioning, Variables" under Prompt Management even on its free Developer plan.

2. Evaluation datasets and scoring

Evaluation means a fixed set of test inputs and an automated scorer, so two prompt versions are compared on the same cases. Braintrust prices scores directly (10,000 a month on Starter, 50,000 on Pro), Langfuse names datasets and LLM-as-judge evaluators, and Promptfoo’s free Community edition carries "All LLM evaluation features" as open source.

3. Tracing and observability

Tracing records each production call so a failing answer can be traced to the prompt version that produced it. Langfuse and LangSmith are built around traces, Portkey logs 10,000 requests a month free and 100,000 on Production, and Helicone tracks sessions and users.

4. Automated prompt optimization

Automated optimization is the newest criterion and the least common on a pricing page. Braintrust describes its Loop agent as able to "run evaluations, generate test cases, and iterate on prompts autonomously"; PromptHub meters "prompt enhancements" (10 a month free, 200 on Pro); LangSmith lists recommending fixes to prompts and code.

5. Cost and token tracking

Cost tracking should attribute spend to a prompt version, not only to an account. Langfuse names "Token and Cost Tracking" on every plan; Portkey puts granular budgets in Enterprise governance; the other pricing pages did not name per-version cost attribution.

6. Collaboration and access control

Access control decides who can ship a prompt to production. PromptHub Team includes "Team and user permissions", Braintrust Pro includes RBAC, and Langfuse sells enterprise SSO and fine-grained RBAC as a $300 a month Teams add-on; single sign-on is Enterprise-only at most vendors.

7. Self-hosting and data residency

Self-hosting matters when prompts and traces contain customer data. Langfuse offers a self-hosted edition alongside its cloud, Portkey lists an open-source edition to "Host it Yourself", and Promptfoo’s Community edition runs "locally or self-host on your own infrastructure". PromptLayer, Braintrust, Helicone and LangSmith reserve self-hosted or on-premises deployment for Enterprise.

8. The pricing model: seats, usage units or platform fee

The pricing models are not comparable at a glance. PromptHub and LangSmith charge per seat, Langfuse meters usage units above an included allowance ($8 per 100,000 after the first 100,000), Braintrust charges a platform fee with model credits and data allowances, and Portkey charges per logged request above 100,000.

What it costs at small-team scale

For five people, the entry paid tier ranges from $29 a month (Langfuse Core) to $249 (Braintrust Pro); per-seat pricing turns LangSmith’s $39 seat into $195.

VendorPlanHow it is pricedFive people payFree tier
LangfuseCore$29 platform, unlimited users, 100k units$29Hobby: 2 users, 50k units
PromptLayerPro$49, 5 users, $0.003 per transaction over limits$49Free: 5 users, 2.5k requests
PortkeyProduction$49, 100k logs, +$9 per 100k$49Developer: 10k logs
PromptHubTeam$15 per user annual ($20 monthly)$75Free: unlimited members, public prompts
HeliconePro$79, unlimited seats, usage-based above$79Hobby: 10k requests, 1 seat
LangSmithPlus$39 per seat, 10k traces$195Developer: 1 seat, 5k traces
BraintrustPro$249 platform fee, $100 credits$249Starter: $0, unlimited users
PromptfooEnterpriseCustom, no public priceQuoteCommunity: free, open source

Cheapest paid plan that admits five users, USD per month, read on each vendor’s pricing page 19 October 2026. Annual price where the page offers a toggle; usage overages excluded.

Five-person team, entry paid tier per monthUSD, read 19 October 2026
Langfuse Core $29
PromptLayer Pro $49
Portkey Production $49
PromptHub Team $75$15 x 5 seats
Helicone Pro $79
LangSmith Plus $195$39 x 5 seats
Braintrust Pro $249
The same five people cost 8.6 times more on the dearest entry tier than the cheapest. Per-seat vendors (PromptHub, LangSmith) rise with headcount; platform-fee vendors (Langfuse, Braintrust, Helicone) do not. Promptfoo has no published paid price.

Free tiers change the arithmetic for a pilot. Braintrust Starter is $0 with unlimited users and 10,000 scores a month, PromptHub Free admits unlimited team members if prompts can be public, and PromptLayer Free covers five users at 2,500 requests a month. Startup discounts are published too: Helicone takes 50% off the first year for startups under two years old with under $5M in funding, and Langfuse offers 50% off for early-stage startups.

The eight platforms at their best

Each platform earns its place on one or two stations of the loop; the cards below give each vendor’s strongest true case and the one thing to check.

LangfuseCore $29, Pro $199

Self-hostUnlimited users

Best true angle: the cheapest five-person tier on this page, prompt versioning, evaluations and token-and-cost tracking on every plan, and a self-hosted edition. Langfuse has announced it is joining ClickHouse.

Check before you buy

Units meter traces and observations: $8 per 100,000 after 100,000 included. SSO and fine-grained RBAC are the $300 Teams add-on.

BraintrustStarter $0, Pro $249

Loop agentUnlimited users

Best true angle: the strongest evaluation and optimization story: scores are a priced unit and the Loop agent can generate test cases and iterate on prompts.

Check before you buy

Pro is a $249 platform fee before data ($3 per GB over 5 GB) and score overages; qualifying startups get 6 to 12 months free.

PromptHubPro $9, Team $15 per user (annual)

Version controlPer seat

Best true angle: the most approachable registry for mixed technical and non-technical teams, with version control, evaluations, pipelines and a prompt enhancer.

Check before you buy

Free plan prompts are public; private prompts start on Pro. SSO is Enterprise.

PortkeyDeveloper free, Production $49

Open sourceAI gateway

Best true angle: a gateway first: one API across model providers with fallbacks and load balancing, plus prompt versioning and logs.

Check before you buy

Its own page says Production is "Not recommended for organizations requiring custom security controls or data residency guarantees".

HeliconePro $79, Team $799

Unlimited seatsAcquired by Mintlify

Best true angle: observability with a gateway and caching at a flat $79 for unlimited seats, with a 7-day trial. Helicone announced on 3 March 2026 that it has been acquired by Mintlify.

Check before you buy

Usage-based pricing applies above the included 10,000 requests; check the roadmap after the acquisition.

PromptLayerPro $49, Team $500

5 users on ProSOC 2, HIPAA

Best true angle: a five-user plan at $49 with unlimited playgrounds and workspaces, and SOC 2 Type 2, GDPR, HIPAA and CCPA certifications listed on the pricing page.

Check before you buy

Pro keeps the Free plan’s request limits and bills $0.003 per transaction over them.

PromptfooCommunity free, Enterprise custom

Open sourceRed teaming

Best true angle: free, open-source evaluation and red teaming (10,000 probes a month) that runs locally or on your own infrastructure.

Check before you buy

Team sharing, continuous monitoring and SSO are Enterprise; there is no published paid price.

LangSmithDeveloper $0, Plus $39 per seat

Per seatOnline + offline evals

Best true angle: teams already building on LangChain: traces, online and offline evals, a Prompt Hub and playground, and suggested prompt fixes.

Check before you buy

Per-seat pricing makes it $195 for five people; self-hosted and hybrid deployment are Enterprise.

Which tool fits which team?

Match the tool to the station you are missing and to how your team grows.

Start with the station you are missing: Langfuse for cheap all-round coverage with self-hosting, Braintrust when evaluation is the product, PromptHub when non-engineers own the prompts, and Portkey when routing across models is the hard part.

How to run a two-week selection

A two-week selection takes your hardest real prompts through the two best-scoring tools and decides on evidence, not demos.

Score every candidate on the card below using its pricing page and docs, then trial the top two on free tiers: Braintrust Starter, Langfuse Hobby, PromptLayer Free and Promptfoo Community all cost nothing. The NIST AI Risk Management Framework asks teams to measure and manage model behaviour over time, which is the job an evaluation set does, and the OWASP Top 10 for LLM Applications lists prompt injection first, which is what Promptfoo’s red teaming probes.

8-criteria scorecard
PROMPT OPTIMISATION SOFTWARE: 8-CRITERIA SCORECARD (Nesyona, 19 Oct 2026) Score each 0 (absent) / 1 (paid add-on or Enterprise only) / 2 (on the plan you would buy). [ ] 1. Version control: every prompt change saved, labelled, rollback in one step [ ] 2. Evaluation: datasets + automated scorers (LLM-as-judge, custom code) [ ] 3. Tracing: each production call logged with inputs, outputs, latency [ ] 4. Automated optimization: the tool proposes an improved prompt, you approve [ ] 5. Cost tracking: tokens and dollars per prompt version, not just per account [ ] 6. Access control: roles, SSO; is it on your plan or Enterprise only? [ ] 7. Data residency: self-host, EU region, or your VPC if prompts hold customer data [ ] 8. Pricing unit: seats x people, OR platform fee + usage. Price it at YOUR team size. Total /16. Two-week trial rule: run your 20 hardest real prompts through the top two.

Write the evaluation set before choosing the tool. Our guide to evaluating prompts shows how to build a rubric a model can score against, prompt templates and variables covers the structure a registry stores, and Anthropic’s prompt engineering overview recommends defining success criteria and tests before iterating. For the wider tool landscape, see the best prompt engineering tools and the LLMOps stack map.

Frequently asked questions

What criteria should I use to select prompt optimization software?
Use eight: version control and rollback, evaluation datasets and scoring, tracing, automated optimization, cost and token tracking, collaboration and access control, self-hosting and data residency, and the pricing unit. Score each tool on whether the feature is on the plan you would buy, not on Enterprise.
What does prompt optimization software cost for a small team?
For five people, the cheapest paid plan that admits all five costs $29 a month on Langfuse Core, $49 on PromptLayer Pro or Portkey Production, $75 on PromptHub Team, $79 on Helicone Pro, $195 on LangSmith Plus and $249 on Braintrust Pro, read on each vendor’s pricing page on 19 October 2026.
Which prompt tools can be self-hosted?
Langfuse offers a self-hosted edition, Portkey lists an open-source edition you can host yourself, and Promptfoo’s Community edition runs locally or on your own infrastructure. PromptLayer, Braintrust, Helicone and LangSmith reserve self-hosted or on-premises deployment for Enterprise customers.
Can software optimize prompts automatically?
Some can. Braintrust’s Loop agent can generate test cases and iterate on prompts, PromptHub meters prompt enhancements, and LangSmith recommends fixes to prompts. The method rests on research such as Large Language Models as Optimizers (arXiv 2309.03409), and it only works as well as the evaluation set it scores against.
Is Langfuse or Braintrust better?
Langfuse is the cheaper all-rounder at $29 a month for unlimited users with tracing, evals, cost tracking and a self-hosted edition. Braintrust Pro at $249 is the stronger choice when evaluation and automated prompt iteration are the core need. Both have free tiers to test first.
Did any prompt optimization vendors change ownership in 2026?
Yes. Helicone announced on 3 March 2026 that it has been acquired by Mintlify, and Langfuse announced it is joining ClickHouse. Agenta, previously a prompt management tool, now positions itself as an open-source workspace for AI agents and is not compared here.

Sources

  1. PromptHub pricing
  2. PromptLayer pricing
  3. Langfuse pricing
  4. Braintrust pricing
  5. Helicone pricing
  6. Helicone blog: Helicone is joining Mintlify
  7. Portkey pricing
  8. Promptfoo pricing
  9. LangSmith pricing (LangChain)
  10. Yang et al., Large Language Models as Optimizers (arXiv 2309.03409)
  11. Zhou et al., Large Language Models Are Human-Level Prompt Engineers (arXiv 2211.01910)
  12. NIST AI Risk Management Framework
  13. OWASP Top 10 for Large Language Model Applications
  14. Anthropic, Prompt engineering overview

From our network

Best AI Tools for Amazon Sellers - bagengine.comBest AI Courses 2026 - edubracket.comBest Accounting Software for Online Sellers - ceocult.com