By Vincent Wesley CoueyPublished 28 October 2026 · 5 min read
Pages read: 28 October 2026Next re-read: 2 November 2026

AI API reliability 2026: what providers declare, and what they later edit

1,510 incidents from 11 AI API providers' own status pages, archived with a SHA-256, put on one taxonomy, and compared week to week so edits to the record are visible. Declared by the providers, not measured by us; captured 28 October 2026 and re-captured weekly.

In this article
  1. What it holds
  2. Last 90 days
  3. Promised against declared
  4. Declared against observed
  5. The revision ledger
  6. The files
  7. How to cite it
  8. What it does not cover
  9. FAQ

What the ledger holds

1,510 incidents across 11 providers, normalised so a chat model, an embeddings endpoint and a console login are separate categories everywhere.

Incidents in the ledger
1,510

Every incident 11 AI providers list on their public status pages, as of 28 October 2026, back to 12 February 2021 for the deepest provider.

Providers with full history
8

The whole published history was read. These cover the full 90 day window and more.

Providers still building depth
3

Their feeds hold only the newest incidents. Our weekly captures extend the covered window, and a window we do not cover yet is shown as unknown, not zero.

Post-resolution revisions
0

Incidents whose record changed after we first saw them resolved. This is the first edition, so it is zero by construction; it fills from the next weekly capture.

The last 90 days, as declared

Minutes in which at least one API component of the provider had a declared impact, counted once even when incidents overlap, and how much of that was a partial or full outage. Providers with no 90 day coverage yet are shown as unknown.

OpenAI 12,39780 outage
ElevenLabs 5,7421,425 outage
Fireworks AI 5,251263 outage
Perplexity 485179 outage
Groq 40518 outage
Cerebras 298298 outage
Cohere 246
Stability AI 8282 outage
Google Cloud 0

API impact means any component in the API surface categories (inference, embeddings, audio and voice, image and video, batch and fine-tuning, tools and files). Console, login and consumer apps are counted separately in data.json.

ProviderHistory fromIncidents, 90 daysMedian length90th percentileAPI impact, minutesof which outage
OpenAI2021-02-1284100 min9.6 h12,39780
ElevenLabs2024-05-17232.2 h11 h5,7421,425
Fireworks AI2026-06-0814114 min118 min5,251263
Perplexity2024-07-30857 min3.5 h485179
Groq2024-03-2552.0 h6.1 h40518
Cerebras2025-01-1125.0 h5.0 h298298
Cohere2024-02-1624.1 h4.1 h2460
Stability AI2025-05-27182 min82 min8282
Google Cloud (Vertex AI and Gemini)2026-02-270n/an/a00
Anthropic2026-08-0490 day window not covered yet (the ledger reaches back 84 days). Shown as unknown.
Mistral2026-08-2690 day window not covered yet (the ledger reaches back 62 days). Shown as unknown.
Read it as a shape, not a ranking. A provider that lists forty components can show more declared minutes than one that lists three, with the same real reliability. Compare a provider with its own history, and read the limits below.

What providers promise, and what they declared

Some providers post an uptime commitment for their enterprise or priority tiers. We read each posted page on 2026-10-28 and set the stated target beside the minutes of declared partial or full outage the same provider listed on its status page, month by month. A 99.9% monthly target allows about 43 minutes of downtime in a 30 day month.

ProviderWhat the posted page saysCredits and claims
Mistral
source page
read 2026-10-28
Service Level Objective (the provider's term), with service credits. Enterprise customers with an agreement; products AI Studio and Vibe, for the part deployed on Mistral infrastructure. Uptime target: Basic 99.5%, Standard 99.9%, Premium 99.9%. Downtime: Server-side downtime, counting only downtime periods of five minutes or more; Monthly Uptime Percentage is total minutes in the month minus those minutes, divided by total minutes.Basic: 2% of Monthly Fees at 99.4% to 95%, 5% below 95%. Standard: 2% at 99.8% to 99.5%, 5% at 99.4% to 95%, 10% below 95%. Premium: 5% at 99.8% to 99.5%, 10% at 99.4% to 95%, 20% below 95%. Total credits in a month capped at 25% of the amount owed for the affected product. Customer must email support-ent@mistral.ai within 30 days of the end of the calendar month, with the date and time of the failure; otherwise the right to a credit is forfeited. Credits are the sole and exclusive remedy and are applied within 60 days of the request (or reimbursed within 90 days of the end of the month if no further invoice).
OpenAI
source page
read 2026-10-28
Uptime SLA and latency SLA (the provider's words) on Scale Tier. Enterprise customers who buy Scale Tier token units (minimum 30 days each) for models released before GPT-5.6; the page points GPT-5.6 and later to Reserved Tier, which was not read. Uptime target: Scale Tier, every model listed 99.9%.Amount not stated on this page. Where both the latency SLA and the uptime SLA are violated, the customer is credited the greater of the two SLA amounts for the calendar month of the token unit purchase.
Groq
source page
read 2026-10-28
Availability SLA and latency guarantee on the Performance tier. Enterprise plans only; models openai/gpt-oss-120b, openai/gpt-oss-20b, llama-3.3-70b-versatile; uncached context under 8,192 tokens. Uptime target: Performance 99.9%. The services agreement overview says service level agreements are among the URL Terms; no SLA text for self-serve use was found on the pages read.not stated on the posted pages (offline agreement)
Anthropic
source page
read 2026-10-28
No uptime commitment on the page read. Commercial Terms of Service. The whole page was searched for uptime, service level, SLA, service credit and availability. The only related wording is the disclaimer that the services and outputs are provided without warranty that use will be uninterrupted. Other documents (for example an enterprise order form) were not read, so this is not a statement that no SLA exists anywhere.no service credits stated on this page

Not read, so no terms are entered (that is not the same as having no SLA): Google Cloud, Cohere, Perplexity, Fireworks AI, Cerebras, Stability AI, ElevenLabs. Google Cloud's Vertex AI SLA page could not be read with the tools used here.

Provider (target)MonthDeclared outage, minutesDowntime budget, minutesDeclared outage against the target
Mistral (99.9% and 99.5%)Apr 2026ledger does not cover this month yet (unknown)
May 2026ledger does not cover this month yet (unknown)
Jun 2026ledger does not cover this month yet (unknown)
Jul 2026ledger does not cover this month yet (unknown)
Aug 2026ledger does not cover this month yet (unknown)
Sep 202660943.2 / 216over 99.9%; over 99.5%
OpenAI (99.9%)Apr 202639643.2over 99.9%
May 20263544.6within 99.9%
Jun 202615143.2over 99.9%
Jul 2026102244.6over 99.9%
Aug 2026044.6within 99.9%
Sep 20264743.2over 99.9%
Groq (99.9%)Apr 2026043.2within 99.9%
May 2026044.6within 99.9%
Jun 2026043.2within 99.9%
Jul 2026044.6within 99.9%
Aug 2026044.6within 99.9%
Sep 2026043.2within 99.9%
Indicative, not a verdict. The target applies to enterprise or priority customers; most of the minutes counted here affected whoever the provider listed. Each provider defines downtime its own way, the posted pages are summaries of agreements we have not seen, and a declared partial outage on one component is not the same as contractual downtime. This shows whether a provider's own declared record sits inside the figure it advertises; it is not a credit claim.

Declared against observed: this week's probe

At the weekly session we send a fixed burst of authenticated, zero-token requests (the models list) to each provider we hold a key for, from one machine, and set the result beside what the provider's own status page declared over the same minutes. This is a snapshot of the front door, not model inference and not uptime. Burst: 2026-10-28 08:20 to 2026-10-28 08:24 UTC.

ProviderCalls that succeededMedian95th percentileStatus page declared an API incident during the burst
OpenAI12 of 12978 ms1377 msNo

Not probed this week (no usable API key on the machine that ran the burst: either none was present, or the key was rejected with an authentication error, which says nothing about reliability; absence is not a clean result): Anthropic, Google Cloud, Mistral, Groq, Cohere, Perplexity, Fireworks AI, Cerebras, Stability AI, ElevenLabs. One machine, one window, one location. A burst can miss an outage; it can also catch a problem the provider never declared, and each edition that happens is the evidence this layer exists for.

The revision ledger

Status pages are edited after the fact. Each weekly capture is archived byte for byte, with a SHA-256, and compared with the one before, so the ledger can list every incident whose published record changed after we first saw it: 0 so far, because this is the first edition. From the next capture the rows appear in revisions.json, each with the value before and after. A listed change is a fact about the record, not an accusation: providers correct typos, merge duplicates and fix timestamps.

The files

File and hashWhat it holdsSize
data.json
sha256 7db111897ed5
Per-provider summary, coverage windows, method, limits and the taxonomy rules36 KB
incidents.json
sha256 b47a36fa575d
The ledger: every incident with its components, declared intervals and the observations that changed2.6 MB
incidents.csv
sha256 fe40236aa0a7
One flat row per incident for spreadsheets415 KB
revisions.json
sha256 011bfe808506
Incidents that changed or stopped being listed after we first recorded them360 B
sla.json
sha256 8b564b6242c8
SLA terms as the providers post them, with source page and read date7.1 KB
EVIDENCE-MANIFEST.json
sha256 a9b1c4ab23d6
URL, read time and SHA-256 of every archived raw status-page response8.1 KB

Raw copies of every status-page response are kept in our evidence archive with the hashes above; the manifest lists each URL and read time.

How to cite it

Couey, V. W. (2026). AI API reliability ledger 2026: what AI providers declare on their own status pages. Nesyona. https://nesyona.com/research/ai-api-reliability-2026/ (captured 28 October 2026). https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.23724799. To cite every version: https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.23724798.

Cite the capture date and the file hash for a specific figure. The ledger is rebuilt weekly, so the date and hash identify the edition.

How it is built, and what it does not cover

Coverage by provider.

No provider was asked to comment before publication. A provider or reader who finds a wrong figure can tell us; we correct it and date the correction.

FAQ

What is the AI API reliability ledger?

A dated, archived ledger of every incident that 11 AI API providers declare on their own public status pages, with one component taxonomy across providers, a coverage window for each provider, and a revision ledger of incidents whose record changed after we first saw it. It was captured on 28 October 2026 and is re-captured weekly.

Is this an uptime measurement?

No. Every figure is what the provider declared. A provider can have degraded service it never posted, and can post incidents that touched few customers. The ledger cannot see either. A later edition adds a small weekly probe, labelled as a snapshot and never as uptime.

Why do some providers show "not covered yet" for 90 days?

Their status pages return only the newest incidents, so the feed itself is shallow. We keep every weekly capture and merge it into the ledger, so depth grows each week. A window the ledger does not yet reach is shown as unknown because a short history is not a clean one.

What is the revision ledger?

Incident records get edited after the fact: a duration shortened, a severity changed, an entry removed. Because each weekly capture is archived and compared with the last, the ledger lists every incident whose published record changed after we first saw it resolved. A change is not evidence of misconduct: providers fix typos, merge duplicates and correct timestamps. The first edition has none by construction.

Why not compare providers as a league table?

Providers list different numbers of components, split them differently, and use different severity labels. Declared minutes are comparable in kind, not exact. Use the ledger to see how one provider changes over time and to compare the shape of incidents, not to crown a winner.

Can I reuse it?

Yes. It is published under CC BY 4.0: reuse is free with attribution to Vincent Wesley Couey and a link to this page.

Does it have a DOI?

Yes. Version 1 is https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.23724799. The DOI for all versions is https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.23724798.